Research and Arts Committee

Research and Arts Committee

Composition & Tenure

  • Twelve faculty, at least one of whom shall be a senator (normally), with one from each of the degree-granting colleges, and three from the College of Arts and Sciences representing life and physical sciences, social sciences, and humanities and arts: (F)
  • One graduate student with a one-year term (renewable). (G)
  • Vice president of research and director of Office of Research Support and Operations. (#)(X)


  • Advises the president, the provost, the executive vice president, and the vice president for research on research and creative activity directions, policies, and programs.
  • Evaluates select applications for University funds to support faculty and graduate student research and creative activity including the establishment of subcommittees for different disciplinary areas. Recommends allocations of funds to the vice president for research.
  • Reviews and recommends policies on administration of relevant appropriated research funds and special grants.
  • Reviews, recommends, and implements policies¬† with respect to establishing, reviewing, and renewing centers and institutes under the purview of the Faculty Senate.
  • Reviews applications for new centers and institutes and subsequent reports for established centers and institutes to make recommendations to the Faculty Senate (CICU Policies and Procedures).

Additional notes

  • Co-Chair or Chair elected by the Committee.
  • Has representation on the Steering Committee.
  • Responsible to: Faculty Senate and the president.
  • Reports to: Faculty Senate and the president, through the vice president for research.

(S) Faculty on Sabbatical; (SS) Sabbatical substitute

Name Rank Constituency Location Term Start Term End
Co-Chair, Pablo Monsivais (F) Associate Professor Nutrition & Exercise Physiology, ESFCOMSpokane 20202026
Co-Chair, Jonah Firestone (F) Assistant Professor Science Education, CoETri-Cities 20222025
Zhihua Jiang Professor Animal Science, CAHNRSPullman 20232026
Yoon Joo Lee (F)Associate Professor Strategic Communication, MCCPullman 20222026
Alberto Sa Vinhas Associate Professor Marketing & International Business, CCBVancouver 20202026
Brian Clowers (F) (S)Associate Professor Physical Sciences, CASPullman 20212024
Andrea Lazarus Professor Pharmacotherapy, CoPPS Spokane 20212024
James MacLean Associate Professor Cntr, for Reproductive Biology, CVMPullman 20212027
Erin Thornton (F)Associate Professor Anthropology, CAS Pullman 20222025
Thomas Jobson (F)Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering, VCEAPullman20222025
Peter Chilson (F)Professor English, CAS Pullman 2019 2025
Xinmin Liu (F)Associate Professor School of Languages, Cultures, and Race; CASPullman 20232026
Shelly Fritz (F)Associate Professor Nursing, CoNSpokane 20232026
Student Representative
Nazua Idris (G)Graduate Student Graduate Student Representative Pullman 20232024
Ex-Officio Non Voting Members
Karen Hecox Research Operations Coordinator Administrative Support Pullman Administrative Support Administrative Support
Chris Keane Vice President for Research Office of Research Support and Operations Pullman ORSO Representative ORSO Representative
Dan Nordquist Deputy Vice President for Research & Operations Office of Research Support and Operations Pullman ORSO Representative ORSO Representative


Vote: 0

*It may take up to 30 minutes before your vote shows on the page.