Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Faculty Senate Faculty Status Committee

Faculty Status Committee


  1. Reviews, mediates, and/or adjudicates disputes within the faculty and between the faculty and the administration.
  2. Makes recommendations to the Faculty Affairs Committee and to the President concerning policies about faculty affairs which arise out of its conciliatory and judicial functions.
  3. Calls special meetings of the faculty or any component thereof, giving reasonable notice, at which time the Chair of the Committee shall preside.
  4. Reviews any problem within its jurisdiction brought to it by any member of the faculty.
  5. Makes periodic reports (at least annually) to the Faculty Senate and to the faculty concerning its operations.   A Guide for Faculty, Appellants and New Members  

Composition and Tenure

  1. Nine faculty, with three-year terms. Members are elected by the faculty by secret ballot according to procedures specified in the Faculty Manual. (F)

Chair elected by the Committee

Responsible to: The Faculty

Reports to: The Faculty; the Faculty Senate

Committee Membership

  1. Members must be tenured and hold the rank of at least Associate Professor.
  2. Members must have at least six consecutive years of employment at Washington State University.
  3. Members may not hold an administrative appointment that involves participation in tenure and/or promotion decisions.
  4. Membership should provide broad representation across the colleges, Libraries, and research stations.

Peter Boag, Co-Chair (2019)
Phone: 509-335-0182

Carolyn F Ross, Co-Chair (2020)
School of Food Science
Phone; 509-335-2438

Jennifer Sherman (2020)
Department of Sociology 335-4163

Sarah Ullrich-French (2020)
Department of ELSSECP, COE 335-6858

T. Randy Fortenbery (2021)
Economic Sciences 335-7637

Babu John Mariadoss (2021)
Marketing & International Business  335-6354

Elizabeth Soliday (2021)
Human Development  360-546-9727

Vilma Navarrao-Daniels (2021)
School of  Languages, Cultures, & Race 335-8672

R. Dale Evans (2022)
School of Biological Sciences 335-7466

Keri McCarthy  (2022)
School of Music 335-7966

Mary Paine (2022)
Pharmaceutical Sciences 335-7759



Washington State University