Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University
Washington State University Professional Health Sciences Committee

Professional Health Sciences Committee

Time Commitment

The Professional Health Sciences Committee requires several hours per month or less. It evaluates new courses or course revisions after they have been vetted by the Catalogue Subcommittee.


  • On a continuous basis, reviews and appraises educational policies and programs of Washington State University relating to the professional health sciences.  The professional health sciences are comprised of those degrees, programs, plans, and courses which are not considered undergraduate or graduate and lead to the degrees of Medicine (MD), Pharmacy (PHARMD), and Veterinary Medicine (DVM), or professional certificates offered through the professional health science academic units.
  • Curricula in the professional health sciences are recorded on the student’s academic record under one of the separate professional health sciences transcripts titled Medicine, Pharmacy, or Veterinary Medicine.
  • Coordinates with the Graduate Studies Committee or the Academic Affairs Committee when reviewing curriculum for dual/combined degree programs (e.g., PharmD/PhD combined degree program).
  • Makes recommendations to the Faculty Senate concerning academic policies and procedures for health sciences professional degree programs.

Composition and tenure

  • Six faculty, one from each of the of the colleges focused on medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and veterinary medicine, and two faculty involved in teaching not residing in the four colleges already represented. (F)
  • Two students from professional health science programs, with one-year terms (renewable). (P)
  • One dean from a health sciences college, elected by the Council of Deans; registrar, serving as secretary; director, Admissions; provost and executive vice president or designee; all chancellors or their designees. (#)(X)

Additional notes

  • The chair is elected by the Committee.
  • Whenever possible, at least one non-ex officio member of the Professional Health Sciences Committee shall serve on the Catalog Subcommittee.
  • Permanent Subcommittee: Catalog Subcommittee.
  • Has representation on the Steering Committee.
  • Responsible to: Faculty Senate.
  • Reports to: Faculty Senate and the president, through the provost and executive vice president.