Faculty Senate

Graduate Studies Committee

Functions:

  1. On a continuous basis, reviews and appraises graduate educational policies, programs, and procedures.

  2. Recommends establishment, continuation, modification, and termination of graduate courses and degree programs.

  3. Advises the Dean of the Graduate School.

  4. Makes policy recommendations regarding the granting of graduate scholarships, assistantships, and fellowships.

  5. Consults with the Academic Affairs Committee on those policies and procedures which jointly affect graduate and undergraduate education.

Composition and Tenure:

  1. One member from each college that offers graduate training.  At least two shall be members of the Senate. (F)

  2. Three graduate students, with two-year terms, with one student representing a branch campus. (G)

  3. President, Graduate and Professional Student Association; Dean of the Graduate School, serving as secretary; Provost and Executive Vice President or designee; Chancellor, WSU Spokane; Chancellor, WSU Tri-Cities; Chancellor, WSU Vancouver. (X)(#)

Chair elected by the Committee.

  • Permanent Subcommittee: Catalog Subcommittee

  • Has representation on the Steering Committee and Catalog Subcommittee.

Responsible to: Faculty Senate

Reports to: Faculty Senate; the President, Dean of the Graduate School, and the Provost and Executive Vice President


Committee Membership:

Chauvin, Ted (F), 2017
Co-Chair, College of Medicine, Medical Education Program
tchauvin@wsu.edu 

Salsbury, Tom (F) 2019
Co-Chair, College of Education, Teaching and Learning
tsalsbury@wsu.edu


Frederiksen, Linda
(F), 2018
Libraries
lfrederiksen@vancouver.wsu.edu


Call, Doug 
(F), 2019
College of Veterinary Medicine
drcall@vetmed.wsu.edu

Potts, Donna (F), 2019 / Senator
College of Arts and Sciences
donna.potts@wsu.edu

Jacoby, Pete (F) 2018
CAHNRS / Senator
jacoby@wsu.edu

Uchila, Umesh (F) 2019
College of Business
umesh@wsu.edu

Lee, Yoon-Joo (F), 2019
College of Communication
yoon.j.lee@wsu.edu

Thiessen, David (F), 2017
College of Engineering and Architecture
thiessen@wsu.edu

Schwartz, Jennifer (F), 2017
College of Arts and Sciences
schwartj@wsu.edu

Zhu, Jiyue (F), 2018
College of Pharmacy
jiyue.zhu@wsu.edu

Dhingra, Amit (F), 2018
CAHNRS
adhingra@wsu.edu


Dotson, Joann (F) 2018
College of Nursing
joann.dotson@wsu.edu

 

Carris, Lori (X)(#)
Secretary, Associate Dean, Graduate School

 

Thornton, Melanie (X)(#)
President, GPSA

Larson, Emily  (G) 2018

Vacant (G) 2018

McNeal, James  (G) 2018
Vancouver

 

Andrefsky, Bill (X)(#)
Representative, Provost and Executive Vice-President

 

Brown, Lisa (X)(#)
Chancellor, WSU-Spokane

 

Moo-Young, H. Keith (X)(#)
Chancellor, WSU-Tri-Cities

 

Netzhammer, Mel (X)(#)
Chancellor, WSU-Vancouver

 

Updated 8/30/16

Faculty Senate, PO Box 1038, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-1038, 509-335-3424, Contact Us