Nominations for the WSU Honorary Doctoral Degree due November 1.

Faculty, staff, and students are invited to submit nominations for the 2024 recipient of Washington State University's honorary doctoral degree.

Annually, the Washington State University Board of Regents is deemed the authority to confer an honorary degree, which recognizes an individual of great integrity who has made profound and enduring contributions to their field of scholarship and improved quality of life in society at large. This honor recognizes individuals for their devotion to literature, art, or science and whose contributions enhance the intellectual climate of and embody the values of Washington State University.

In 2024, WSU honored Carla Peperzak, a member of the Dutch Resistance during World War II, and Patricia Whitefoot, a revered elder of the Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation dedicated to the education of Native American students.

This year's chosen individual(s) will join Ms. Peperzak, Ms. Whitefoot, and a cadre of impactful leaders who have previously received the honor, including journalist Edward R. Murrow and world-renowned nutritionist Joel E. Ferris.

Nomination deadline is November 1

The Honorary Doctoral Degree Committee encourages faculty, staff, and students to submit nominations online by Friday, November 1.

For more information, visit the <u>Honorary Doctoral Degrees Committee</u> website or contact Jeanne Weiler, Office of the President, at 509-335-4861.

An honor bestowed at Commencement.

The chosen recipient will be honored during Spring 2025 Commencement.

Questions?

For more information, visit the <u>Honorary Doctoral Degrees Committee</u> <u>website</u>, or contact <u>Jeanne Weiler</u> at the Office of the President at 509-335-4861.