Faculty Senate

Graduate Studies Committee


  1. On a continuous basis, reviews and appraises graduate educational policies, programs, and procedures.

  2. Recommends establishment, continuation, modification, and termination of graduate courses and degree programs.

  3. Advises the Dean of the Graduate School.

  4. Makes policy recommendations regarding the granting of graduate scholarships, assistantships, and fellowships.

  5. Consults with the Academic Affairs Committee on those policies and procedures which jointly affect graduate and undergraduate education.

Composition and Tenure:

  1. One member from each college that offers graduate training.  At least two shall be members of the Senate. (F)

  2. Three graduate students, with two-year terms, with one student representing a branch campus. (G)

  3. President, Graduate and Professional Student Association; Dean of the Graduate School, serving as secretary; Provost and Executive Vice President or designee; Chancellor, WSU Spokane; Chancellor, WSU Tri-Cities; Chancellor, WSU Vancouver. (X)(#)

Chair elected by the Committee.

  • Permanent Subcommittee: Catalog Subcommittee

  • Has representation on the Steering Committee and Catalog Subcommittee.

Responsible to: Faculty Senate

Reports to: Faculty Senate; the President, Dean of the Graduate School, and the Provost and Executive Vice President

Committee Membership:

Chauvin, Ted (F), 2017
Co-Chair, College of Medicine, Medical Education Program

Salsbury, Tom (F) 2019
Co-Chair, College of Education, Teaching and Learning

Frederiksen, Linda
(F), 2018

Call, Doug 
(F), 2019
College of Veterinary Medicine

Potts, Donna (F), 2019 / Senator
College of Arts and Sciences

Jacoby, Pete (F) 2018
CAHNRS / Senator

Uchila, Umesh (F) 2019
College of Business

Lee, Yoon-Joo (F), 2019
College of Communication

Hossain, Akaram (F), 2017
College of Engineering and Architecture

Schwartz, Jennifer (F), 2017
College of Arts and Sciences

Zhu, Jiyue (F), 2018
College of Pharmacy

Dhingra, Amit (F), 2018

Dotson, Joann (F) 2018
College of Nursing


Carris, Lori (X)(#)
Secretary, Associate Dean, Graduate School


Thornton, Melanie (X)(#)
President, GPSA

Chakarabarti, Kakali  (G) 2018

 Jarolmased, Sanaz (G) 2018

McNeal, James  (G) 2018


Andrefsky, Bill (X)(#)
Representative, Provost and Executive Vice-President


Brown, Lisa (X)(#)
Chancellor, WSU-Spokane


Moo-Young, H. Keith (X)(#)
Chancellor, WSU-Tri-Cities


Netzhammer, Mel (X)(#)
Chancellor, WSU-Vancouver

 (F) Faculty, (X) Ex-officio, (#) Non-voting

Updated 9/9/16

Faculty Senate, PO Box 1038, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-1038, 509-335-3424, Contact Us