Faculty Senate

Graduate Studies Committee

Functions:

  1. On a continuous basis, reviews and appraises graduate educational policies, programs, and procedures.

  2. Recommends establishment, continuation, modification, and termination of graduate courses and degree programs.

  3. Advises the Dean of the Graduate School.

  4. Makes policy recommendations regarding the granting of graduate scholarships, assistantships, and fellowships.

  5. Consults with the Academic Affairs Committee on those policies and procedures which jointly affect graduate and undergraduate education.

Composition and Tenure:

  1. One member from each college that offers graduate training.  At least two shall be members of the Senate. (F)

  2. Three graduate students, with two-year terms, with one student representing a branch campus. (G)

  3. President, Graduate and Professional Student Association; Dean of the Graduate School, serving as secretary; Provost and Executive Vice President or designee; Chancellor, WSU Spokane; Chancellor, WSU Tri-Cities; Chancellor, WSU Vancouver. (X)(#)

Chair elected by the Committee.

  • Permanent Subcommittee: Catalog Subcommittee

  • Has representation on the Steering Committee and Catalog Subcommittee.

Responsible to: Faculty Senate

Reports to: Faculty Senate; the President, Dean of the Graduate School, and the Provost and Executive Vice President


Committee Membership:

Potts, Donna (F), 2019 / Senator
Co-Chair, College of Arts & Sciences
donna.potts@wsu.edu 

Salsbury, Tom (F) 2019
Co-Chair, College of Education, Teaching and Learning
tsalsbury@wsu.edu


Frederiksen, Linda
(F), 2018
Libraries
lfrederiksen@vancouver.wsu.edu


Call, Doug 
(F), 2019
College of Veterinary Medicine
drcall@vetmed.wsu.edu

Jacoby, Pete (F) 2018
CAHNRS  
jacoby@wsu.edu

Uchila, Umesh (F) 2019
College of Business
umesh@wsu.edu

Lee, Yoon-Joo (F), 2019
College of Communication
yoon.j.lee@wsu.edu

Chermack, Gail (F), 2020
ESF College of Medicine
chermak@wsu.edu

Dimitrov, Alex (F), 2020
College of Arts and Sciences
alex.dimitrov@wsu.edu

Zhu, Jiyue (F), 2018
College of Pharmacy
jiyue.zhu@wsu.edu

Dhingra, Amit (F), 2018
CAHNRS
adhingra@wsu.edu


Dotson, Joann (F) 2018 / Senator
College of Nursing
joann.dotson@wsu.edu

Belzer, Ben  (F)  2020 / Senator
College of Engineering/Architecture

Carris, Lori (X)(#)
Secretary, Associate Dean, Graduate School

 

Reynolds, Shane (X)(#)
President, GPSA

Riddle, Chase  (G) 2019

Jarolmased, Sanaz (G) 2019

McNeal, James  (G) 2019
Vancouver

 

Andrefsky, Bill (X)(#)
Representative, Provost and Executive Vice-President

 

DeWald, Daryll (X)(#)
Chancellor, WSU-Spokane

 

Moo-Young, H. Keith (X)(#)
Chancellor, WSU-Tri-Cities

 

Netzhammer, Mel (X)(#)
Chancellor, WSU-Vancouver

 (F) Faculty, (X) Ex-officio, (#) Non-voting

Updated 10/03/17

Faculty Senate, PO Box 1038, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-1038, 509-335-3424, Contact Us